All you need to know about Nantong

Nantong is a prefecture-level city in China’s Jiangsu province. It lies on the Yangtze River, and shares a border with the cities Yancheng, Taizhou, Suzhou and Shanghai. It has a population of more than 7.2 million, with over 1.9 million of residents living in its main built-up area.

During Ancient times, Nantong was originally part of the State of Wu, before later coming under new foreign rule in 334BC. Further regime change arrived with first unification of China via the State of Qin.

By the imperial era, Nantong was a minor city county of growing importance, helped along by the increasing stature of its neighbouring city, Yangzhou. Nantong would later become China’s first modern city, due in great part to its industrial developments.

These days, the city is regarded as a cultural hotspot, rich in natural scenery. Its attractions range from pretty parks to great architecture. Must visit landmarks include Wolf Mountain and the Nantong Hao River. For shopping, head to the Auchan Shopping Centre.

The prefecture level city consists of eight-county level divisions, including four county-level cities and three districts. Its main districts are Chongchuan, Gangzha and Tongzhou, each of which carries its own population.

The economy of Nantong is primarily centred on agriculture. Its main exports are cotton, rice, wheat and fruit. Originally a centre for the textile industry, the city is these days more focused on the production of organic food.

Nantong’s transport links consist of trains and buses. The Nantong Metro is made up of four subway lines provides reliable links across the city. You can, likewise, catch a bus all over Nantong. Nantong Xingdong is the city’s main airport, and is located Tongzhou district.